Good News On Bad Days

The few times I have been able to gather the energy to write lately, it has been predominantly about the feelings I connect to that struggle. I believe strongly in sharing my vulnerabilities in hopes that it may help others who are going through similar things. That has not changed, I am still deep in a bad health flare and I still believe strongly that being honest about that is important. But today I thought I would do something a little different and talk about a couple of the good things that have happened to me this week. 

The first thing is that I qualified for a doula certification scholarship available to trans folks from DTI. These folks have been an absolute dream to work with so far. I can not wait to really get started. Being able to help people like myself have more positive birth and postpartum outcomes while offering my family more concrete stability and contribution is a literal dream come true. There is so much work ahead of me, and many complicating factors but I am resolute and determined. 

The other thing that happened to me this week is that I found an answer, a name to explain everything that I have been experiencing in the last few years, Asprin Exacerbated Respiratory Disease, or Samter’s Triad. There is no cure, it is treatment resistant, and progressive…but it’s a start, a concrete reason for my body seeming to give up almost entirely on breathing in the last two years. As bad as things have been for me lately, an answer is a sincere improvement. I will take it and appreciate it for what it is. 

So that’s my good news, the glimmer of light in a week in which my hands have literally felt to heavy, drained, and exhausted to even hold a device, in which I was quite literally to exhausted to cry in exhaustion. Sometimes it’s the little things that keep us going. 

Do you have something to share? No matter how seemingly small, I’d love to hear about it. We can celebrate together. 

One thought on “Good News On Bad Days

  1. Congrats on the doula-ship! There’s a local doula, Nik Graham on fb, who might be a good contact to make. She’s a former family member of mine (very friendly, liberal). Also, I’m glad you finally have another piece to your health puzzle. That validation can be quite comforting, can’t it?

Tell me what ya Think

